Ice and Snow

I started this blog to help me get to my goal of skiing at least 60 times this winter while spending as little money as possible. If this adventure makes it possible for me and one other person to ski more for less – I will be happy.

I learned to ski in the ‘70s in Poconos and I hadn’t skied again till settled in New Mexico 5 years ago. Since then I have skied in New Mexico, Colorado, and Utah. Initially with a Mountain Collective Pass now I ski with an Epic Military Veteran Pass.

My home mountain is Ski Santa Fe.  

This is the first post on my new blog. It is about my past and future adventures skiing and traveling from Columbus, Ohio to Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Initially I plan on continuing my routine of taking the train one to two days a week from Albuquerque to Santa Fe and riding the Blue Bus to Ski Santa Fe.

It is hard to pass up a day of skiing for free!

One of my first plans is to ski at Taos for the 5th Annual Not Forgotten Outreach Veteran Appreciation Week from January 22 to the 24. for $40 a day.

I will be spending a week at the end of February in the Vail Beaver Creek area for lodging at under $70 a day. I found this from using the Facebook EPIC PASS holder grouptalk for meet ups and places to stay

I will probably ski at Vail hopefully a few times prior to the end of February.

I plan on also skiing at Crested Butte and staying at a hostel nearby.

I noticed that Ski Cooper is going to have a Season Pass of $159 that includes FREE SKIING (3 days) at EACH of their partner resorts.

Here are the nearby resorts:

MONARCH, CO
LOVELAND, CO
SUNLIGHT, CO
POWDERHORN, CO
PURGATORY, CO
GRANBY RANCH, CO
HESPERUS, CO
PAJARITO, NM
SIPAPU, NM
RED RIVER, NM
ANGEL FIRE, NM
SKI APACHE, NM

There are a number of articles in the Travel section of the NYT that are well worth the investment. Here are some of them: Money-Saving Secrets From Ski Bums, The Snowiest Mountains: Where to Ski, and When, Multi-Mountain Passes Upended the American Ski Trip. Here Are 9 Rules.

I’m just getting this new blog going, so stay tuned for more. If anyone has any ideas let me know.

Subscribe below to get notified when I post new updates.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started